RSS

Day 46 – So what day is it anyway?? A day for gratitude :)

18 Aug

As you might have guessed I’ve totally lost track of the days, I had skipped a week ahead in my counting, but infact today is only day 46 and not 52 as I thought!!! So we are now coming to the end of the 7th week of being on site and when I think about all the work that has been done, I’m in awe!!

It kinda hit me today for the first time, just how stressful building a house is, and how much of that stress is NOT being carried by me, but by the builders. I show up most days and chat and make certain decisions and admire the work that has been done… but to a very large degree I’m completely free of the everyday hassle of building the house. This was very much considered in our preparation for building and in our decision to go with the builder we have gone with. Rob and I both wanted to go with someone we got on well with, who was offering more than just a sales pitch, who was proud of his work, who was willing to show us his previous work (with their owners at home), who was willing to go the extra mile.

On one of the first meetings we had with our builder he showed us a house he’d built. It wasn’t far from the city, and belonged to a man with a farm, wife and kids. The owner wasn’t home that day (the house had been build about 4 or 5 years before). But yet the owner was more than happy for the builder to enter his home and show us around… to go into all the rooms, the attic… with complete trust. When the man did finally come home, I realised that he and our builder hadn’t seen each other in over a year!!! They met like friends meet, with respect, familiarity and with a desire to catch up. So we left and the builder stayed on for a coffee!! I was delighted to see this interaction.

Over the last few months, getting to know the builder has been a real pleasure… I would recommend him to anyone. I guess this whole post today is about gratitude! For the goodness in people, their nobility and kindness, their humility! This sounds very cheesy, but I’m so grateful! I don’t deal with stress very well so I’m glad that our builder, and his son, and their crew have been willing to carry that stress… I feel blessed.

I know they sometimes shrug off my gratitude with a friendly “it’s my job”, but it is always a choice to be kind whilst doing your job!

So today, some more roof pictures!! You can see the gable ends of the house almost up, the windows for the most part still boarded up. Windows will arrive early september! And a visit from the inspector… Josh!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 18, 2011 in Timber Frame

 

2 responses to “Day 46 – So what day is it anyway?? A day for gratitude :)

  1. dove19

    August 19, 2011 at 11:04 am

    Hi!

    Really enjoyed todays post, the words even apart from the progress visible in the pictures etc were a joy to read!
    Thanks!

    Big Sis!

     
    • clubjuncture

      August 20, 2011 at 6:10 pm

      Thanks big Sis, congrats on your big news also… very well done!!! You must be over the moon!

       

Leave a Reply

 
